top of page
Anchor 1

THINGS THAT HAPPENED

Browse below by date, or just pick which title looks most interesting to you! There is no wrong way.

The Dark Tower

Updated: Apr 16, 2018

On the day after being sick, it is probably not the best idea in the world to walk up 498 stairs in the Asinelli tower. I couldn't do it. But I had to do it. The stairs are narrow and all the people behind me kept me from going backwards. I started sweating, and I got really worried somewhere around 55 stairs. Then, Hah Lay Lew Yuh, a landing!


I waved my classmates on. "Go on without me! Save yourselves!" And I took out my camera. This way, all the people passing me would think I was stopping for some amazing photographic opportunity, not because I was sick 24 hours prior and made a bad decision.


Photo Notes:

  • The Asinelli tower is not the one with the lean, but the straight one.

  • The outside view of the base of leaning tower is interesting.

  • There are holes in the floors of the landings, giving a view straight down.

  • The various windows on the way up are often littered with coins that people have tossed over.

  • The otherwise empty landings give us an expanse of worn wood and one solitary chest - lock broken and empty.

  • On the balcony, the cold air is brisk as it whips around the corner. I made it!

  • On the way back down, the entrance to the stairs is almost vertical - more like a ladder - and veritably unrecognizable as stairs.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page